Writer + Blogger Tags

TAG

Following suit from a fellow blogger, I’ve decided that this would be a great first post for starting over. I perused through Chiara’s posts to find some inspiration, and I found this.

There are two tags here, and this is the first: A Writer’s Life for Me. (Very pirate-y, don’t you think? Because if I lived in the 18th century, I would totally be a pirate.)

1. What kind of a writer are you?

Long Answer: The kind that gets frustrated – sometimes angry – when I haven’t written in a few days due to writer’s block. The kind that found those diversity movements two years too late.* The kind that narrates scenes in her head because she has nothing better to do. If you look up the definition of “writer,” you’ll probably find my name in the “See Also” section.

Short Answer: Fantasy, ranging from urban to high fantasy, and sci-fi because SPACE. The influence of sexual orientations has lead me to consider non-straight characters for my stories.

*By the time I found them, I was two years deep into my novel and determined that this was the story that was getting published first.

2. When did you start writing?

Oh god, way before high school, before fifth grade even. I don’t remember, and I don’t care to remember. The only thing that matters is that I started writing and I haven’t stopped.

3. What inspires your stories?

Everything. I can take a look at people and a character will pop into my head based on something they said or wore or how attractive I found them. Other books also inspire me, and I’ll immediately work on the story to make it different from the already-published one (if it inspires me enough to write). Images, scenery, music even—nothing escapes the Inspiration Wagon.

4. What themes do you like to explore in your writing?

Does mythology count as a theme? I study mythology throughout the internet because colleges and universities, if they have it, have only Greek and/or Roman mythologies, and that really irks me. I would get my masters in mythology if I could! So, everything I write, be it science fiction or romance, will have something to do with mythology.

Other than that, I’m not entirely sure what theme I really go for in my writing. I suppose I’m all about journeys/adventures; I’m not a huge fan of romance. I do have a pair of characters that are sisters whose parents are either dead or missing and they have a strong connection.

5. Are you a pantser, plotter, or a bit of both?

Both, but I lean more on the pantser side. In the past, I always got an idea so profound to me that I had to write it immediately. When this general, malleable shape of a world and its characters came to form, I’d start writing something of an outline. The thing is, I pushed to make those outlines, but most of the time I still go for it.

6. Where are you in your journey? (querying, agented, published)

Actually, I’m still in the writing stage. I’ve taken about four years to write the novel that I’m writing. In the beginning it didn’t have a direction, and there were so many things that I wanted it to be. It took me four years and about 5 to 10 different versions of the story to find what I needed the story to be. The agency that I’m interested in requires a full manuscript before querying, so I have to finish it before I can move on.

7. Have you ever entered any writing competitions?

There was one in 2011 that my mother told me about, and I started writing a short story for it. However, it turned out to be longer than the requirement and I soon shoved the competition out of my mind to work with the story I had at the time (f.y.i., it was not the same as the one I mentioned above).

So, in short, no, I have not. I’ve considered it, but the requirements are always something that make me back away because the short stories lately are supposed to be under 100 words. No, thank you!

8. Who are your writer heroes?

Melissa de la Cruz and Garth Nix. In the 9th grade, I started reading a series called Blue Bloods, and I fell in love with it. It was the first book to inspire me to become an author. You’re probably wondering, “well, where does Garth Nix fit in?” Have you read his Abhorsen series? Actually, I really love fantasy, and his stories constantly inspire me to reach farther and create my own worlds.

9. Have you been to a writer’s conference?

Yes. In October 2011, I went to a conference that was originally supposed to be a romance writer’s conference, but, obviously, that changed. It was Michigan, and I learned so many things there—like how to give to my story a direction.

I haven’t been to one since, mostly because I’m unemployed and can’t afford it.

10. Three tips you’d give to newbie writers:

  1. Don’t be afraid of your first draft. EVERY first draft is hideous. That’s why the magic of editing is there to help us shape it into something more magical.
  2. Sometimes, it’s better to go for quantity than quality if you’re having difficulties writing a scene. You’ll have to edit it anyway.
  3. Read a book, and then read another one. Then, for the hell of it, read five more books. You can never do too much reading while writing, as it can also help you learn.

This next tag is called “Secret Life of a Book Blogger“.

1. How long have you been a blogger?

Do you want actual time or time that I’ve actually blogged about anything? Because, in March 2013, I started The Writing Corner, but some time after that, I fell off the radar. I suppose the short answer is “3 years in March”.

2. At which point do you think you’ll stop writing?

When these blogging websites become obsolete, or until I can’t type anymore.

3. What is the best thing about the community?

I’m not sure? I haven’t been in and around the blogging community long or often enough to know. I talk to one other blogger, but that’s about it. Other than that, I’ve been kind of in the shadows.

4. What is the worst thing? And what do you do to make it okay?

The lack of interactions. When I write something, I want people to see it and recognize it, but when none of that happens, it’s disheartening. I think that’s part of the reason why I fell off the radar, because there wasn’t enough to care about anything. There’s really no way to make that okay.

5. How long does it take you to create/find pictures to use?

It depends. In the past, I always downloaded the covers from Goodreads, and I never used much else. It would take me about ten or fifteen minutes to make a little banner for previous themes because I wanted things to look uniform. Now, things will be different, and I’ll be taking my own photos of books for the reviews I post. Also, I’ll be using a different editing program – a browser-based one – to make some of the graphics (like the one for this post).

I might also look into livening other posts and add in some .gifs so I’m not this humorless, un-relatable blog.

6. Who is your book crush?

Oh dear, it’s been a while since I’ve had a book crush, but it’s likely Theron from Snow Like Ashes or Mal from the Grisha trilogy.

7. Which author would you like to have on your blog?

I think it’s too soon to say, but I wouldn’t mind having Garth Nix or Melissa de la Cruz stop by.

8. What do you wear when you write your blog posts?

Um, clothes? How is this relevant?

9. How long does it take you to prepare?

Assuming this has nothing to do with the previous question, not much time. With the revival of my blog, I’m hoping I can spend at least a day or two working on a post so that it’s nice and polished and ready to be read by others.

10. How do you feel about the book blogging community?

I sort of answered this in a previous question, so I’ll stand by what that says. If you want a clearer answer, it’s this: I don’t know. I don’t have much experience within the community, to it’s difficult to shape an opinion. I hope that it’s great and welcoming and that people are supportive of each other rather than down each others’ throats. Because if it’s the latter, I won’t want to be part of it.

I realize that these answers are probably longer than you care to read, if you read them, but those are them. It’s too early to tag anyone that I know, and Chiara has already done this tag. But, if you read this and haven’t done it yet, feel free to do so.

Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

