National Novel Writing Month (Prep)

nanowrimo-logoAccording to the Internet, November is National Novel Writing Month. There’s even a website dedicated to it. It’s an organized event that brings in people from all over into a commonplace where they write 50k words over a 30-day period.

I’m one of them.

nanowrimo_2016_webbanner_participant

About 4 years ago, I joined the team, but I didn’t quite finish either stories in the first two years of my stay. It didn’t help that I always started late. I almost made it with the second book. After that, I didn’t enter a novel. This year I plan to stay on top of things. It’s prep-time for NaNoWriMo, and I’ve already entered the novel that I’ve been working on for almost five years now.

I don’t know how much I should say about it, but I did post a very rough synopsis for it on my NaNoWriMo page. Almost 5 years ago, I started that story. It’s been a rough few years and I certainly don’t have the heart to scrap it. At one point, I tried putting it aside to work on something else, to give myself something of a fresh look on the old piece. Turns out, I did that all the time; whenever I wasn’t writing, I was doing something else—playing video games, reading a book, watching too many TV shows… Doing that put a negative impact on my writing. Nowadays, I struggle to write, and I don’t do enough reading anymore either.

This will be the first post in a short series about NaNoWriMo. In the following entries, I’ll talk about things like setting and genres. There will likely be about five more posts just to cover everything. So gather your pencils and join me on a reflection of storytelling.

Leave a Reply

